Several hundred guests enjoyed fabulous food, cocktails and entertainment at the 2015 Community Pillar Awards Gala on Friday, April 25, 2015 at the Henry Center.  The Lansing Black Chamber of Commerce  presented 5 community award winners for its 5 Pillars of Service [Advocacy, Access to Capital, Contracting, Chamber Development & Entrepreneur Development].  Honorees included

  • Paula D. Cunningham
  • Dr. Joan Jackson Johnson
  • Dr. Roderick Stepter
  • Dr. Hilton Thomas
  • James R. Riley, Jr.

The event featured some feel-good music with a healthy dose of down-home high-energy, high-octane instrumentals from 496 West’s .  For the evening, band members include: Charlie Wilson (guitar), Zakiya Williams (vocals), Dennis Johnson (drums), Arnold Pulliam (bass), Sebastian Woods (keyboard)  and Andres De Jesus (percussion) and special very music guest – Deon Yates.

The Lansing Black Chamber of Commerce presents... 2015...496 West wsg Deon Yates at the 2015 LBCC Pillar Awards in April